TravelerReviews

A Week In... Puglia

review_img

JoanLukowiak

A Week in Puglia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

I thought the hotels were very nice except for the one in Lecce, which was tired and needed updating. At times it seemed like the itinerary dragged and there wasn't enough to do. I was surprised that Bari was not incuded for a visit. I thought the food, the guide, and my fellow travelers were lovely.

Most Memorable Moment:

I thought Matera was breath taking. It was fascinating history and the city was alive with activitiy.

review_img

kennethroozen

beautiful sites in less travelled area of italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

puglia was a very pleasant surprise! enjoyed the diversity of cities and history from the cave dwellings to the coastal region. plenty of leisure time but many interesting walks and places to visit to fill the time. hotels, meals, and special events/sites were outstanding. the fact that it was much less crowded then the big cities was a big plus!

Most Memorable Moment:

while there were several, visiting the cave homes and "carved from the mountain" churches of matera as well as the unique trulli houses were highlights for us.

review_img

BDAJack

Excursions Were Great, Food Varied In Quality

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Excursions were varied, interesting, entertaining, especially the ones with our highly knowledgeable and informative local guides. The food varied in quality. Never bad, just some were just OK while a few were really good. In one case, there was way too much food served. Quantity certainly doesn't make it better.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable (and unusual) moment was the visit to Alberobello and the Trulli houses.

review_img

Alessandra

A week in Puglia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was an extremely well organized trip. The members of the group were very intelligent and well traveled. The guide was knowledgeable and charming. Even the bathroom stops were planned out. The accommodations were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to say what the most memorable moment was. Just to pick one- I never saw so many olive trees in my life and never saw so many old olive trees with trunks measuring more than six feet in diameter.

review_img

Legacy

The best of Southern Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had never been south of Rome and now we discovered what we had been missing. This was a great trip that combined all the right ingredients - a terrific tour director, an indepth exposure to the food, history, architecture, antiquities, culture, wine and people of the south of Italy - and the outcome was a most enjoyable, memorable experience

Most Memorable Moment:

Making bread and pasta at the Masseria Torre Coccaro Hotel cooking school. Everyone joined in the fun!

review_img

Margraves

Puglia not ready for big time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Love the people, hotels and food. Unfortunately there is little to do there. Wasted a whole half day learning how Buratta is made....really all morning...what a waste of precious time. Interesting country side.

Most Memorable Moment:

Nothing was memorable......but it was a "nice" trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MarieD

Trip to Pulgia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had a wonderful time in Puglia. Tauck did a wonderful job with the variety of activities - ancient caves, mozzarella & wine making to quaint small towns. The only problem was the first hotel had a wedding party in their outdoor courtyard one night that celebrated until 1:30 am. Our tour director was organized and did a great job.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved it all-- the Truilla homes, caves, the local craftsman, Lecce... The pasta making class at the hotel was a lot of fun

review_img

mwsurak

Rename tour A Culinary Expedition

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We have been to Italy several times, but never southern Italy. We had been told the food in southern Italy was the best and we don't disagree....it was amazing. Our tour director was very good and made sure we had hand outs about the area. The local guides were fun and informative. Did I mention food? Not a single meal that was not enjoyed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Four of us went to the square in Lecce after dinner one night. There was a musician and people dancing, truly magical.

review_img

Travelartist

Puglia is special

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We arrived two nights early. So happy we did as the Masseria we stayed in was wonderful. We didn't have time to explore Bari but we spent a full day at the private beach club all together the five nights at the Masseria were fabulous. The service special and the food out of this world. The small group was wonderful. Had a ball.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Trullis of Areobella and eating lunch in the cave at Matera were memorable. And Tauck always throws in extra fun stuff. Don't miss the Medieval Jewish museum in Lecce.

review_img

GerryB

A great out of the way gem!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had a great time exploring this region of Italy. It was enjoyable to stay in a small area that had so much to offer. Great food, great wine friendly people and great weather!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the 2000 year old Oil Trees and the great golf courses!!

review_img

John Chaney

Paradise Found

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Surely a dream trip to paradise. Puglia is certainly the best of Italy, and Tauck chose just the right amenities for every occasion. Truly unique sights and experiences. Every aspect was managed expertly without making one feel managed. I've never felt so pampered or luxuriated. This was a once in a life time trip. Maybe we'll do it again.

Most Memorable Moment:

No one moment can be singled out. Perhaps it was the expert guidance of our Tauck Director, who was so knowledgeable, personable, and ever filled with enthusiasm, that brought everything to life. And then, well, there was the awesome, unmatchable foods on offer, well chosen, well executed, and unbelievably delicious. Loved our Masseria.

review_img

saldanac

Puglia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

We have returned from a great trip . It was exciting to go to a "new" place in Italy. Weather was perfect, in the 70's. Our guide was the best, "Mama Mia". Be prepared to walk and take multiple stairs, it is a jam packed tour with not much free time. Drink Espresso to keep up!

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch at the Masseria Il Frantoio. We would love to stay there.

review_img

Beryl Bogan

Those trulli houses!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Puglia is so lovely with its miles of olive trees and quaint cobblestone towns. So far the big travel companies have not discovered this area so it is peaceful and less crowded. The hotels we stayed in were amazing - luxurious and full of character. We loved Puglia and it's trulli houses.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting a sculptor's studio and seeing him carve out a bowl from a block of limestone.

review_img

agnes1345

Wonderful, as all Tauck journeys.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

A supremely organized small group tour, under the guidance of the fantastic tour director whose presence added an extra layer of pleasure to the whole experience. Puglia is not really of the radar of most travelers which made this trip so much more interesting and enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Basilica of Santa Catarine d'Alessandria. The colorful, splendid frescoes covering the entire interior of the church present a sharp contrast to the austere exterior.

review_img

Coalport

Great Trip Great Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

We had a wonderful tour of Puglia. Though we were somewhat surprised by the cool spring weather, the enthusiasm and spirit of our Tour director more than made up for any disappointments. Considering this was Tauck's first tour of this region, everything worked out extremely well.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entertainment and dancing on the final evening.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button