TravelerReviews

Provence

review_img

Jim Tosone

A Magical week in Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The early-mid September weather was great: sunny and mid-80's. All of the hotels were charming and first-class. The meals and wine were a consistent delight. The balance of planned activities and free time was very good. Our concern going in about Activity Level 4 proved to be unfounded, as we were able to participate in all activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Picking up the makings of a traditional picnic lunch in the market at Gordes, and then having a picnic lunch in a Provencal meadow with our wonderful guide, driver, and fellow travelers.

review_img

AnthonyConiglio

Provence via Mathieu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Awesome experience, expecting it to be very good...and it was even better! The diversity of experiences, efficiency of transportation, beautiful hotels, amazing food and very talented and thoughtful Tauck professionals, including the bus driver! Our Tauck Director was exceptional as our guide, smart, funny, resourceful and managed the group very well

Most Memorable Moment:

Buying, cooking and then enjoying the beautiful lunch in Avignon!

review_img

joelj

Our First Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The trip was incredible from beginning to end. The accommodations were superb. The itinerary was fantastic - charming cities, breathtaking hilltop villages, colorful markets, local artists and first-class wineries. The tour group consisted of veteran travelers who were a pleasure to be with and a great Tour Director with a terrific sense of humor.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments but the cooking class and wine tasting in Avignon were our favorite. The hike to the abbey and the visits with local artists were close behind.

review_img

drsrabbit

Excellent time in Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The tour far exceeded expectations. Tour guide was fantastic; he really added value to our adventures. Enjoyed everything--nice mix of physical activity, culture/education, bus travel. Food superb. Didn't rate the trip a 5 only because air travel delayed on both ends-no fault of Tauck but added major stress. Otherwise, the trip was a 5!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking across the top of the Pont du Gard and hiking to the Abbeye de Senanque in the rain!

review_img

Barb122

Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Each day of our Provence trip brought breathtaking vistas, delectable food, elegant wines and dream like lodgings. There were moments that felt like time stood still. Our guide shared his expansive knowledge and witty sense of humor to make our memorable trip an even more wonderful and enjoyable experience. Can’t wait for the next one.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many it’s difficult to choose one. The cooking class was a totally fun day!

review_img

Leemurph

Another Winner

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our third Tauck experience. The first two were so extraordinary that we came back for more. And this experience ensures that we will return for a fourth trip. The one constant has been the Tour Directors. Every one has been perfect, including this time. He was energetic, very personable, knowledgeable and flexible

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit with Jill Steinhuis at her home in Aix was fabulous. Also the cooking class in Avignon was a wonderful and unique experience. THE HOTEL IN AVIGNON WAS A DISSAPOINTMENT BECAUSE IT WAS SO FAR FROM TOWN. WHILE IT WAS NICE, ITS POOR PROXIMITY LEFT US WITH NO TIME TO EXPLORE THE WONDERS OF AVIGNON.

review_img

LindaPorch

Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our trip was wonderful from beginning to end. I wish that Tauck offered even more of the Culturious tours.

review_img

LynnKavcsak

Provence, France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I had been told by several people that the Provence trip was the best they had been on and I agree! It was fabulous and our tour guide, Gina, made the trip extra special. I liked the small group tour; we had 16 on our trip. I also appreciated the variety in the daily activities. I loved the three course lunches and dinners!

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip through the indoor market to buy items to prepare for lunch prior to the cooking school in Avignon was a blast. I also loved winetasting in the cellar before cooking at 11:00 a.m.! The two chefs were very fun and patient with us and they even provided us with the recipes.

review_img

AlanDC

A Delightful Week in Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

A great week spent going to small cities throughout Provence was enjoyed by all on the tour. Especially nice that only 16 were traveling and this group bonded early with each other. Tour guide was especially efficient and showed her enthusiasm and expert recommendations for all the cities we visited: Aix-en-Provence, Gordes, and Avignon.

Most Memorable Moment:

Especially enjoyed visiting Cezanne's studio and visit to Jill Steenhuis was memorable for her enthusiasm and fascinating discussion of her and her family's art. Small hotels in all three cities were superb, but especially kudos to La Badtide de Gordes. Visit to St-Paul-de-Mausoke where Van Gogh spent a year and local guide. Great tour director.

review_img

Anvers39

Culturious Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

A wonderful sampling of the area led by our knowledgeable and most personable guide. With few small exceptions, everything like clockwork.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our day at Les Halles in Avignon, morning shopping with our chef for the ingredients for our communal food prep, cooking and lunch.

review_img

Sugarcreek

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We were on this trip in late May and it was wonderful in all aspects. Our guide was fantastic and very helpful to everyone. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed swimming in the hotel pools every evening. The food and wine tastings were some of the best meals we have ever had. We highly recommend this cultural trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Shopping and cooking with the chef in Avignon, although the hike to the Abbey at Senanque was a very close second.

review_img

andreamer

Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

We spent 8 days in Provence and were very happy with the itinerary and our guide was excellent! I think a guide can make a big difference and Erica really went out of her way to make everyone happy and comfortable. We would prefer a hotel closer to town than the hotel in Avignon, but it was a charming inn.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed the market in Gorde and the hotel was excellent!

review_img

Bryan and Jan

'Perfectly' Charming

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This tour is ‘perfectly’ charming with romantic, boutique hotels; lavender fields; quaint hilltop towns; Roman ruins; art lectures; fabulous food and wine; interesting hikes; and cooking school with a French chef. Tour guide added her own sparkling charm to her knowledgeable presentations about this lovely region. Well done Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking to lavendar fields at Abbye de Senanque

review_img

coppernie

Disappointed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This trip had a fairly slow pace. Too much time for shopping. The cooking class/meal took hours and hours, and the group was split in two, so you only got to do half the preparation. Some of the hotels had rooms that were not equivalent - some had suites, some had rooms with private plunge pools while others got a "regular" room.

Most Memorable Moment:

The asylum at St. Remy - interesting to see the Van Gogh room they have recreated as well as the gardens. We have traveled on another Culturious (Cinque Terre) trip and loved it, but this one was a disappointment.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this trip did not live up to your expectations. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Santa Barbara Couple

Provence - Cultourous

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The hotel in Aix, Le Piggonett was the worst hotel I even stayed in on a Tauck tour. The rooms were TINY and cramped, the room phone didn't work and TWICE they had to come repair it with new batteries. The worst was I went into the bathroom in the Fitness Center at night, slide the door closed and it jammed and would not open. I stuck my fingers

Most Memorable Moment:

continued from above: in the door to try to pull it open and it smashed back on my fingers injuring the middle finger badly and the nail is black and I'm going to lose it soon. I kicked at the door furiously until it finally became unstuck. No was heard my cries or was nearby to help me. A horrible experience. Also there was way too much tim

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you did not like the hotel in Aix and that you had a poor experience in the Fitness Center. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Departmenr.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JHarrison

The trip that seems to keep on giving

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We returned home after this trip, still feeling the enjoyment of spending the week in Provence. I believe this resulted from the enthusiasm of our Tauck tour leader, as well as getting to know each and every one of our fellow travelers, who were some of the nicest folks we have ever had the opportunity to get to know.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick one moment. I just think that the entire experience of spending the week being led around Provence was immensely memorable. We found that the small size of the group seemed to allow each one of us to get to know every single person on the tour. At some point, we spent quite a bit of time with each and every one on our tour.

review_img

RGC

Intro to Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

A great introduction to the Provence area --the small villages so picturesque - hotels were great - being able to sample local cuisine -able to really experience Provence area !! Do take some comfy walking shoes !!! I had hiking shoes !! Was first time doing Tauck tour -they did a great job !!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Whole trip - Tauck Director was great - I am not into cooking but really enjoyed the cooking class at mirande hotel !!! Great fun !!!!

review_img

NYC2014

Enjoyable well organized & perfect to explore the art & wine of Provence.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Excellent gourmet dining with copious amounts of wine. French TD was very informative. Skipped Senanque hike & instead visited The Abby a monastery, since 1148 and a perfect place for meditation. Abby shop best stop for quality lavender products. Loved the first 2 hotels and went back to the first for a few days at end of tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cooking lesson at La Mirande hotel - everything about it was perfect. Also enjoyed pools at first 2 hotels.

review_img

kippen3

Provence Tour in June

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our Small Group Culturious Tour in June was our best trip ever. We loved being part of the smaller group, our tour director was outstanding, our bus driver a delight, and all of the accommodations were wonderful. A surprise 50th Anniversary celebration on the actual day of our anniversary made us realize that Tauck Tours are indeed special!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Provence with the lavender in full bloom, shopping in small town outdoor markets for a picnic lunch, wine-tasting in a remote winery, brilliant blue skies and a soft breeze - there were many memorable moments that we will never forget, and we loved every one!

review_img

Chuck K

A great experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Provence was a beautiful place to visit. The countryside is very picturesque. The tour guide and driver were top notch. We enjoyed the food and wine tasting and learned a lot about the history of Provence. The accommodations were 5 star all the way. We loved the little villages, and the friendly French people.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed visiting the Roman aqueduct. Just imagine such a large structure, around 2,000 years old, still standing. We actually walked through it and marveled at the beautiful views of the river below.

review_img

Marta

Wonderful Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

A terrific experience that started with our memorable welcome dinner and stay at Le Pigonnet (which we inadvertently shared with a group of French celebrities) and finished with a marvelous meal in Chateauneuf du Pape. Our well organized and knowledgeable tour director kept us on track and engaged throughout our journey. A beautiful area to visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

More than one, of course. Not being familiar with French wines I enjoyed tasting what Provence and the Rhone have to offer. The Luberon valley and the hill towns were unforgettable, as was the hike up, then down to the Abbaye de Senanque (walking sticks provided). The view from the Pont du Gard aqueduct was spectacular. And rose wine in Aix...!!

review_img

Mike C

Culturious Provence 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Very enjoyable and just about what I expected. A good mixture of city and country and not excessive driving. For the most part very nice hotels and meals.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two: the visit with Jill Steenhuis in Aix and the cooking class in Avignon. The tour director was knowledgeable, helpful and polite. I would suggest a less cerebral and more enthusiastic approach.

review_img

bridgeplayer

Super

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We had a most wonderful time on our Provence Culturious Tour. The Tour Director was absolutely the best, so kind and intelligent. You have a jewel in her. My wife stubbed and broke her toe and had a deep gash in her left leg that is still ozing and healing and the Tour Director pushed my wife across the lower level of the Pont du Gard. Jacque the driver=great.

Most Memorable Moment:

All was fun-cooking, picnic, country side, poppies, lavender, etc.

review_img

josh

Provence, May 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We were very tired from the long flight but quickly recovered with the infusion of energy from our tour director, and the other guests. The group was congenial, the activities varied and always interesting; and the food, accomodation and travel arrangements were top-of-the-line. It was simply wonderful. Thank you Tauck Tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to single out just one memorable experience. As a geologist, I found great joy in the natural beauty at Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. Dinner at the wonderful Auberge de Cassagne was my most memorable meal.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments on the Provence journey! It is such a special destination.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bosox

Culturious in Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our Culturious tour of Provence was the first Tauck tour for my wife and me. We had high expectations, but the reality exceeded them! We learned and experienced in a way that clearly combined "culture" and "curious" through elements of the tour involving art and architecture, beautiful sights, French cuisine and becoming a family! Magnifique!

review_img

sohail

Amazing trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The whole experience was just amazing right from the start to the end. Our tour director was very good, all the hotels were excellent. Pace of the tour was very good, got some free time as well. Visits to local farmer markets was just fabulous. Shopping for lunch picnic was a delight. Very highly recommended.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cooking with the chef. The whole experience was unforgettable, right from going with the chef to the local market where he shops, shopping with him for the menu he crafted, cooking with him and fellow group members, wine tasting and then enjoying the lunch we cooked was just an experience by itself. In short, just loved it.

review_img

DEder

provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

….this trip was up there with my trip last year to Tuscany and Cinque Terre. What a surprise to cross paths once again with Jean-Roc our tour director….He was the naturalist in Equador when I visited the Galapagos a la Tauck a few years back…..his knowledge of the area and his professionalism was A plus in my book.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to choose from….swinging open my french doors in the morning to beautiful gardens and the mistral lightly blowing among the cypress trees while I sip a cafe au laid at Le Pigonnet!

review_img

LE

Outstanding Provence Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

We returned from our memorable Provence trip in early June and would highly recommend it. This was part of Tauck's "Culturious" option and everything really was perfect! We loved the trip and had a wonderful time. The activities were diverse and included Art/a Picnic/Walking/Cooking/Michelin-starred restaurants/tours,etc. Luxury Accommodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the Avignon Market with a chef to watch him select food items. We than cooked together, had a sommelier explain wines and enjoyed lunch in a beautiful setting. Hoping Tauck adds more Culturious trips for 2016!!

review_img

RCerny

Delightful Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This, our sixth Tauck Tour, was one of our best. Provence is a lovely and historic part of the world. Erica was a great guide. The food and wines were terrific. We loved the smaller group of a Culturious Tour and the vigor of more walking. One caution, three people over 80 caused issues for the group and should not have been included.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in a small family restaurant in a little village near our hotel near Gordes. Fantastic food in a real family operation.

review_img

agnes1345

Glorious, like all my Tauck trips.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Endless indulgence in sights, food, visits with expert local guides made this trip very memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visits to Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Avignon, including cooking class here in the most dazzling venue.

review_img

queenie

culturious provence with Erica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I was on the Sept. 1st trip with Erica as our tour director. This was my 9th Tauck trip but first small group and culturious tour. I had a great time and everything as usual was well planned. The tour director Erica was excellent!!! I think the highlight for me was the cooking class with Jean-Claude. It was so much fun and informative. Carol

review_img

rtbirns2401@aol.com

Bonjour Provence

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Provence is probably one of the most beautiful places to visit. The small towns and villages, the local markets, the fields of flowers ( poppies, lavender , sunflowers), one can see the reason it attracted so many impressionist painters trying to capture the beauty of the region.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. Among them the picnic where we were given assignments for shopping at the local market and then having an absolute delicious feast in the country. Also cooking lunch with the wonderful chef Jean Claude in Avignon , visiting the asylum where Van Gogh spent time towards the end of his life and painted around 150 masterpieces .

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey with us and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TNewfield

Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Tour was very well planned. Very active trip. I appreciated the alternate options for activity I did not want to participate in. Tour director was personable and very responsive to the group needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many moments. Too hard to choose one.

review_img

Thankful

1st class overview of Provence!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Something for everyone. Art, history, cooking, wine tasting and free time to shop, hike or bike. Cezanne, Van Gogh, the Truffle Museum, an Abbey, a paper mill, Pont Du Gard, a day at the market and cooking with Chef Jean Claude Atmayer. A trip to the Palace of the Popes, an Olive Mill and a farewell celebration at Chateauneuf Du Pape.

Most Memorable Moment:

Celebrating the friendships that were made during the week at the farewell dinner and sorry to see the trip end. As I look over my pictures, it brings back a week of great memories. Hats off to a great Tauck Tour Director and Driver.

review_img

Eileen Conroy

Perfect Provence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was the best tour I have been on in years--I have been on a Tauck tour before and many "other" tours (including one to Provence). This was perfect in every way--from the beautiful resorts to the superb Tour Director--everything was done with the customer in mind.

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the activities is a cooking class in Avignon--you meet the chef and go to the market to purchase all the food and then you cook with the chef and make a marvelous meal. Simply terrific!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button