TravelerReviews

Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna & Prague – Honoring the Jewish Heritage

review_img

Charlie S

Jewish Heritage Tour-Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Based upon my heritage I looked forward to this trip with both much anticipation and anxiety. I was not disappointed on either front. The Group Director was excellent in both his management skills as well as his ability to keep things light and on time, all without fanfare. The places we visited were interesting and insightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

In addition to trip to Auschwitz, the trip to the Ringelblum discover of the Warsaw Ghetto documents was most poignant. Also meeting with Helga, a survivor in Prague was most interesting as it brought back memories of some of my mother's stories. Also meeting with the young Rabbi and his wife in Buda was funny and inspiring.

review_img

GloriaSloane

Eastern Europe/Jewish heritage 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

It was wonderful. The Jewish heritage aspect was particularly moving and touching. Auchwitz was a bit rushed and sterile but I felt uplifted when I left. Overall I reconnected with my Judiasm and my heritage which is a wonderful feeling.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one but meeting with the survivor was very moving. Also meeting with the Rabbi and his wife was terrific. They restored my faith in the possibility of Jewishness remaining in Europe.

review_img

JudithRohn

Jewish Cultual Trip E. Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

While very expensive, this trip exceeds all expectations! From hotels, food, guides, experiences, bus drivers, personal encounters, all are of high quality. Tauck goes overboard to meet all needs, including individual ones. My husband wanted to hunt for family graves in Vienna, and Tauck supplied both a guide and taxi for 3 hours(we found 3 of 4!)

Most Memorable Moment:

We had several: attending a Jewish/Polish wedding (arranged on our own),finding family graves and former homes; meeting with a Holocaust survivor in Prague, visiting Terezin/ reciting El Molei Rachamin/Kaddish in a former "synagogue", attending synagogue services in 3 different cities. It was such a "packed" trip, it was hard to process/appreciate.

review_img

elseth11

A moving and memorable trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our 5th Tauck trip and it and Tauck delivered what was promised and expected. The Tour Director was excellent and knowledgeable as were all the local guides. The visits to the concentration camps are etched in our memories. Tauck did a wonderful job of balancing the heavy with some enjoyment like the private concert in Vienna.

Most Memorable Moment:

visiting Auschwitz-Birkenau

review_img

Soozi

A wonderful and educational trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

If I remember only 10% of the historical information I learned from the very knowledgeable tour director and local guides, I'll be satisfied! With a tour such as this, one learns so much more and in a more interesting way than just reading a book on the subjects covered on the trip. We were lucky to have a really great group of 38 people.

Most Memorable Moment:

A special evening planned just for our group at the Auersperg Palace in Vienna was the highlight for me! We were entranced with the Vienna Residence Orchestra playing Strauss waltzes and Mozart, a ballerina and danseur, and 2 opera singers. I didn't want the evening to end!!

review_img

Derek Enlander

Eastern Europe Jewish Heritage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Well organized in general, it was an experience rather than a vacation. Few points for future trips. It is a Jewish trip, start on a day other than Saturday, option allow trip to visit a service in one or more synagogues. Use the local kosher cafes. Shorten lunch breaks. Offer at additional cost, operas,concerts etc Perhaps a Jewish Guide ?

Most Memorable Moment:

A must for all We have heard about the Holocaust but have not faced the reality,. seeing firsthand the atrocity reigned on of Jews, defenseless and undefended by the rest of the world. Auschwitz visit ended at sunset, we stood at gates, recited Kaddish, a prayer for the departed dead Jews, followed by Hatikvah, Israels national anthem ... Hope'

review_img

Gcmin

Very well done but room for improvement

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Very memorable and worthwhile. Good collection of sights, excellent tour director and local guides. Hotels are well-located, but it would be nice to have a view. Sites chosen are terrific, but Vienna should be rethought to include Schonbrunn Palace, yet retain the visit to Belvedere, a great substitution. Lot of local food opportunities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Has to start with the camps, Auschwitz and Terezin, which can't be imagined unless seen. Loved the night cruise in Budapest and day visit to Parliament. Survivor talk in Prague was very moving, and enjoyed the Strahov library visit. Belvedere Castle was special as was the Galicia Museum and the cemeteries. Lots of terrific sites.

review_img

ArnieA

Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

All and all, not bad. Hotel in Vienna is old and tired. With all the lead time Tauck has in securing rooms, ALL rooms have to be similar. On this tour some had tiny rooms and other had suite-sized rooms with two bathrooms. This creates problems because in a small tour, people talk. Also, we had a free day in Vienna on Sunday--everything closed

Most Memorable Moment:

cont. from above. Tauck should have flipped the Monday itinerary with Sunday so we could enjoy the shops.

review_img

CATSOOS

Jewish Heritage trip u don't have to be Jewish to go on this trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This trip was both enjoyable and emotional. Tauck again did a fantastic job mixing an emotional day of touring sites of pain and sorrow with events at night to be uplifted. It was worrisome to me not being Jewish and almost everyone else was Jewish. But it was not an issue and we had some great conversations.

Most Memorable Moment:

I love Budapest great city and night cruise was beautiful. Emotionally Krakow and Auschwitz were amazing. Loved having downtime to explore on my own too great balance.

review_img

Eric Weiss

Jewish Heritage Tour of Central Europe....October, 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Our trip to Central Europe was a non-stop moving historical lesson! Covering not only Jewish aspects of the countries we visited, but the history of the countries themselves.European history is very complex but our Tauck tour director and the local tour guides made it easy and thoroughly enjoyable to learn about.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without question being able to step foot in Auschwitz and with our group say prayers to honor the victims, was the most memorable moment of this journey.

review_img

jschesney65

Tauck provided an exceptional experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

If you are looking for a trip where you won't have a worry in the world, every detail is planned & even pleasantly surprised with a few extra perks you weren't expecting then Tauck is the way to go! What a tour operator! Our guide was absolutely the best! Not a single complaint - it was a first class experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved how we got to do things on this trip that we wouldn't have been able to do if we went on our own(ie. tour inside the Monastery library, lunch with a Holocaust survivor, Q&A with a Rabbi & his wife. Great opportunity to not just be a tourist but to see real life in these countries. Also LOVED the private concert in the Palace in Vienna!Wow!

review_img

DrBlue

Deep Dive Into Jewish History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This trip was remarkable. It was a thorough exploration of Central Europe and particularly the Holocaust. The visits to the concentration camps, the remains of Jewish culture and the understanding of the horrific treatment of the Jewish people was eye opening. Our Director was brilliant, accommodating and a great leader. Thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

Saying Kaddish as a group as we were leaving Auschwitz - Birkenau. It was so moving to remember those who perished. Also, the fact that we were able to fly directly from Prague to Tel Aviv after the journey made me once again realize the meaning of Israel. Tauck was excellent.

review_img

ORW

A moving journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was a poignant, serious exploration of our ancestors' lives in Europe and the Holocaust and the current state of Jewish life there interspersed with outstanding cultural events. The group blended well and the tour director was excellent. A highly recommended trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Kaddish at Terezin cemetery, walking through Auschwitz, a classical concert with ballet and opera in Vienna in a room that Mozart performed in, viewing Beethoven's original score for his fifth symphony at the Lobkowicz palace.

review_img

mimigrossman

Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The entire trip was well planned and orchestrated. Although the theme was Jewish Heritage, there were many opportunities to enjoy a variety of cultural experiences--many museums,a private piano recital and a private concert. Truly extraordinary. This trip was tantamount to taking a history class on the college level.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. One of the most memorable was saying kaddish at Buchenwald with the group. Sharing these moments with new friends was even more meaningful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time on this journey and were able to learn so much. We look forward to having you travel with Tauck in the future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jharri8

Jewish Heritage tour of Cental Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

An excellent educational experience with well informed guides in each location. There was not a restful vacation. It not a fan of long bus rides. Although there were 4 days of travel between cities, it was very enjoyable because the tour guide provided interesting information. The bus was comfortable. Hotels were excellent. Food was good

Most Memorable Moment:

No one specific momnet

review_img

Steve Ginsberg

Eastern Europe honoring Jewish Heritage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The trip was fantastic, thanks in large part to the tour director and the local guides. It was very comprehensive, the hotels and private events were top notch. The restaurants were very good. Given the nature of our tour, the balancing of both the enjoyable activities with the poignant ones was handled extremely well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Though there were many memorable moments, the most enjoyable was the Mozart/Strauss concert in Vienna. The most poignant was the visit to Auschwitz and the most enlightening were the conversations with the local guides, particularly in Budapest & Vienna.

review_img

Debbie Stern

Wonderful trip...fabulous and informative...eye opening.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This trip was fantastic on so many levels. The director was amazing and so informative. The countries we visited were filled with Jewish heritage. The trip was well planned and well thought out. I enjoyed every minute of it and was glad we took the Jewish Heritage Tour rather than the regular one offered. It was special!

Most Memorable Moment:

I think that visiting the concentration camps was emotional and incredibly difficult. I was able to see what Hitler did to so many. I also loved the private concert in Prague. It was really special and very uplifting. I would say that each experience we had was special in its own way.

review_img

metry

Extremely Intense Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Not exactly "Best vacation ever." + not likely "I'll be back." but don't read that as a negative. I signed up for this trip primarily to visit Jewish Vienna, former homeland to both of my parents + my grandparents. This was an intense experience, softened by luxurious Tauck quality accomodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sunset dinner cruise in Budapest was so lovely. Food was delicious. Loved the music. What a special evening!

review_img

debrahd

Greatly dusappointed in our first Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

For a tour about Jewish heritage, the timing of the trips to Auschwitz ad Terezin on the Sabbath and on the holiday of Shavout was totally disrespectful of those of the Jewish faith. The hotels were lovely and the food was good, but we did not see enough and the guides were repetitive and did not move. Instead of walking and talking they stopped.

Most Memorable Moment:

The concert in Vienna

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always striving to improve our tours and make sure the daily itinerary is appropriate to every departure. We hope you will travel with Tauck again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Barry Grosman

Amazing and important travels through history!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our travels through Eastern Europe were amazing on so many levels. First you have the countries themselves with the cities of Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna and Prague and the surrounding countryside. Next you have the history of the Jews in each place and then the Nazi atrocities perpetrated before and during WWII. It was an important trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit with a rabbi and his wife in Budapest in their thriving synagogue and learning about their family losses and survivors under the Nazis, their young years growing up under communism and life since the fall of the Berlin Wall, was my most memorable moment. They are young and working hard within their community to promote their Jewish life!

review_img

annxstitch

Oct Central European Jewish Heritage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This tour was everything we hoped for in seeing the sights relating to our Jewish heritage and the important locations. Our tour guide Zsofia was the very best. Her knowledge of both the Jewish locations and traditions was outstanding and her warmth and kindness were exceptional. As usual Tauck has taken care of everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the important Jewish sites were memorable. One of our local guides Edith was so very special. I believe this was her first jewish heritage tour and we questioned her. She reached deep into her feelings and talked to us about her background. The next day she brought personal items to share with the group. How very special she was.

review_img

ediefirth

Warsaw, Prague, Vienna, Jewish Heritage rip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My opinions were included in the form my husband, Firth Spiegel, and I filled out. Both of us discussed the ups and downs of this trip. Please check the form we returned to the tour director, Sofia. Thanks, Ediie Spiegel

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to contact us. Our Guest Relations Department did receive your comment card regarding the trip and we see that a response has been sent. We do appreciate your feedback and rest assured that all of your comments and suggestions have been shared with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

millerjcat0418

Great educational vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

I wanted to learn more about Eastern Europe and the history of the Jewish people. I really enjoyed seeing the differences between the cities we visited along the way. We saw some very sad places, but also some wonderful and uplifting sites. Our tour director was excellent and really enhanced the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The concert in Vienna was a real treat for everyone.

review_img

PSolar

A great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Very well organized, great Hotels, excellent guides. This is what I have cone to expect from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The castle in Prague, Last night

review_img

AWeitzberg

Central Europe- Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

First trip with Taulk.....TOP NOTCH! Definitely 5 stars. Every detail taken care of. Very Organized, Beautiful hotels, Wonderful surprises...concerts and farewell dinner. Excellent tour director who was responsive, knowledgeable and thoughtful. Many very good local tour guides especially in Vienna.

Most Memorable Moment:

Very difficult to pick one moment. Each country had moments. One that stands out above the others is seeing a memorial in Vienna placed in a sidewalk by neighbors of those who perished and had lived on their street.

review_img

AlanKou

East Central Europe Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was a fantastic experience! The itinerary was great in and of itself, and the trip was made even greater by our Tauck guide, Steven Fisher, who REALLY "knew his stuff"! Truly the 5 Star experience Tauck offered in every way....lodgings, food, travel accommodations etc. It was money very well spent.

Most Memorable Moment:

It would be difficult to dissect a "most memorable" moment. Every day and every event was enlightening and poignant. It would probably largely depend upon the traveler's personal family history vis a vis the various sites we visited. Every stop was magnificent. Trust in Tauck.....Go!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returnd with so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dwintax

2nd Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trip explored the major Jewish Communities of Eastern/Central Europe as it existed prior to WWII. The five major cities we explored were Warsaw, Krakow, Vienna, Budapest and Prague. We visited major restored Synagogues, cemetery's(tomb stones going back to the 1400's), castles, homes, museums, musical venues and concentration camps.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Terezenstadt. We could actually imagine the time/place & people.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BSchmider

Jewish Heritage Eastern/Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Your local guides were great and Stephen Fisher was absolutely wonderful. He gave us the general history of the area with interesting and pertinent details. He handled the people with care, consideration and much 'class!' Having the most difficult part of the trip come first was marvelously planned. And the weather cooperated - floods and all.

Most Memorable Moment:

I became temporarily emotionally paralyzed when I realized the human statistics of the Holocaust in EVERY country/city we went to were beyond human understanding. The organization, the hate, of huge populations against others was beyond verbal description.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you on a future trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DBeck

Jewish Heritage Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

One of the finest tours my wife and I have ever taken. This was the first Jewish Heritage Tour given by Tauck. They did a wonderful job. First class hotels, wonderful food, excellent guides- Stephen Fischer is the absolute best tour guide you will ever have-and great local guides. A wonderful-and sometimes emotional experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing pictures and movies of the concentration camps is nothing to actually being there. For the very first time the actual reality of these terrible events are there to be seen in person. It leaves a real and true lasting impression. This is not a movie-it happened and now you can pass this information down to others being a witness to the event.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are delighted your journey was such a wonderful experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button