TravelerReviews

Adriatic Treasures: Croatia to Venice

review_img

paulabo

Like a Dream

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Wonderful in every way. Beginning in Dubrovnik with a congenial and warm group of fellow travelers, we enjoyed opportunities to learn about not only Croatia but the Balkans in general, to experience local food and customs, to tour beautiful castles, caves and marketplaces and to listen and interact with several Croatian nationals.

Most Memorable Moment:

The amazing Postonjna Caves where Tauck arranged a private, early entry. It was magical seeing the stalagmites and stalactites lighted in a way to highlight their beauty and almost mystical shapes. And at the end, 8 amazing men with a range of voices singing for us in the “echo” chamber accompanied by a glass of Prosecco! It brought us to tears.

review_img

dfarledge

Fantastic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

As always, the Tauck Tour Director and the Tauck Exclusives make every trip special. Our tour director exceeded our expectations. She was extremely organized, very cheerful and pleasant, knowledgable, and always ready to help. Based on her recommendation, we have already booked a 2019 trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments were the visits to the caves and the truffle farm. Both were Private Tauck Exclusives.

review_img

Eric Luse

Adriatic Treasures Was a Great Learning Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My wife and I enjoyed the Adriatic Treasures tour very much. We loved the newly renovated Hilton Imperial in Dubrovnik, a very interesting and beautiful old city. Hotel Park in Split was disappointing. Ljubljana was charming and the hotel was fine and well situated. Our guide was fantastic and really made the trip special.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many memorable moments, including walking the streets of Dubrovnik and Diocletian's Palace in Split with a wonderful, funny and extremely eloquent local guide. The silk making demonstration was amazing. The most memorable part of the trip was our Tauck Director's history lesson about Croatia and Yugoslavia during the bus ride from Pula to Venice.

review_img

carol leisner

dv1806140010

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We thought the trip to Croatia to Venice was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable as well as the local guides. The pace was fast and wished that we had more time and days in certain areas. Only 2 hotels were not up to our liking. The hotel in Venice (Metropole) should be changed. It was dark and not up to standard.

Most Memorable Moment:

We think the whole trip was memorable. The group was excellent. We think the whole trip was excellent. Our group really jelled.

review_img

Aussie Helen

Best Tour Leader Ever!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I wanted to go to Dubrovnik so booked as an Australian Solo traveller. From the first night I didn’t feel alone as the Tauck Director had strategies in place to encourage people to mix, exceptional. The busy, carefully planned, itinerary continued to amaze every day, with a wide variety of activities including many “Tauck” moments.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our outstanding Tour Leader, Dubrovnik, close second Slovenia as well as so many “Tauck” moments.

review_img

BarbaraLitchfield

Adriatic Adventures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

It was outstanding in every way. Our small group of 24 developed a great camaraderie which made the trip amazing. Our tour guide was excellent professionally and personally. The small cities and stops were well planned out and our local guides were excellent. The food was plentiful and good. My husband and I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the wall of Dubrovnik before our tour began. The beautiful Ljubljana castle and city in Slovenia Relaxing at the Lone hotel on the beaches of the Adriatic Hearing the story told by one man who lived through the Bosnian war And visiting Mostar. Being back in beautiful Venice

review_img

larry bricker

Croatia to Venice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

What a delight! Busy,a lot of walking, heat unbearable, TD's and locals were knowledgable, food, lodging,and transportation excellent. Too hot in month of June. Recommend sending Project manager to review complete package because some of the places were worthy of longer stays, others why bother. Timing of events a problem w/slow walkers.

Most Memorable Moment:

The caves and the water falls, followed by initial castle in Dubrov. Credit to the TD's. Too tight on timing causes tension, then to wrong words. Will be doing NE USA this fall, that will be #8.

review_img

ammcvg

This should have been so much better

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Unlike the many Tauck trips I have taken, there was little flexibility in the schedule to explore on our own. The group activities were uninspired—2 olive oil farms (1 was enough), a truffle hunt yielding no truffles, wasted time spent crossing borders to see very little, and hours spent getting to places with little to see/do (Krka, Brac, Istria)

Most Memorable Moment:

Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, surprise in the caves, Zagreb, Ljubljana, Mostar, our guide. While I continue to recommend Tauck to many people, I wouldn't recommend this tour. Please restructure this tour to allow more free time for guests to discover more on their own. Most guests don't need every minute planned--we like to explore on our own, too.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your suggestions to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mimigrossman

Croatia and the Dalmatian Coast- A Lesson in History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The countries of Croatia, Montenegro,Slovenia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Italy offered the most extraordinary exposure to a history that is both beautiful and horrific. The beauty of the region impressed us as much as the warmth of its inhabitants. Surprises awaited us at every turn and we were never disappointed. Bravo, Tauck!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in Pula, Croatia, with our guide who told us that her grandfather, father, she and her son had all been born in Pula. However, they had been born in 4 different countries. That said it all.

review_img

Tillyseattle

Amazing tour of Croatia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

My husband and I went on the Croatian Adriatic tour this month. We had the best time. This was our second trip with Tauck, and multiple times, we’d say to one another “this is what we paid extra for, this is the Tauck difference.“ Our time was well spent and very efficiently used.

Most Memorable Moment:

We truly couldn’t pin it down. We thoroughly enjoyed the history, the countryside, and all the extra “Tauck” activities. Much of the overall enjoyment was our expert tour director, she made everything flow so easily.

review_img

SanibelSue

History and Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We learned so much about the history of the region of Dalmatia and our tour guide provided an outline to help us understand the various groups that ruled the countries. We toured Roman, Venetian, Ottoman, Austrian sites and enjoyed meeting families in their homes and on their farms. All hotels were well-located near the city centers.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from our hotel in Istria; looking across the Adriatic toward Italy and beyond to snow capped mountains.

review_img

PRogers

Adriatic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This is a wonderful trip everyone should take! The itinerary was put together so beautifully that it left no stone unturned. We saw everything there was to see, and then some. The food was wonderful as was the service and the accommodations at the hotels; even the weather cooperated. Local guides were superb! The trip should be on everyone's list.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several memorable moments: walking the wall in Dubrovnik, exploring Porto Montenegro, going to the truffle farm. In all honesty, everything was a memorable moment.

review_img

Trish Cowle

Its the most wonderful company in the world

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our trip was fantastic with the exception of the weather and my husband and me catching colds and a virus! Through no fault of Tauck or of our wonderful Tour Director, we both got sick as did many others. The exception was my husband who was so sick that he needed a doctor. In Slovenia, our Tauck Director arranged with the hotel to get a doctor to help.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mentioned. I loved the beautiful park full of waterfalls. I enjoyed every moment of the tours. We had to miss a couple of tours due to illness, but I can't really point out anything. This tour is a real winner.

review_img

Sojorner

Adriatic Treasures.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

In a word: fabulous. We started in Dubrovnik. It was hot but beautiful. Come at least 2 days earlier if you want to climb the city walls and fortress as those items are not specifically an activity of Tauck. Much of the scenery from the "Games of Thrones" are filmed there as well as Diocletian Palace in Split. Don't miss the cable car.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great views in Dubrovnik, Slovenian mts, Mostar and Montenegro. Enjoying the wines.

review_img

loves2travel2

Adriatic Treasures - Croatia to Venice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

In addition to visiting castles and old towns, this adventure was packed with very unique and interesting experiences. All of the hotels were fabulous, the regional lunches were great and the dinners were exceptional. We loved our tour director. This was our 6th Tauck Trip and it was one of our favorite favorites. (They all tend to be favorites!)

Most Memorable Moment:

The Postojna Caves were awe-inspiring. The surprise at the end was the very thing that differentiates Tauck from other travel companies.

review_img

Bart Hatfield

Loved the Visits to the Agricultural Producers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This tour has a maximum of 26 guests, driven by the constraints of the small venues. We found these venues, especially the truffle farm to be the highlight of the trip. Unlike, what we read on some internet sites, the food was quite good and so were the Croatian wines. The scenery was quite beautiful, especially in Montenegro.

Most Memorable Moment:

The truffle scrambled eggs were the best food moment on the trip. The early opening visit to the Postojna cave was a highlight as well as the reenactors at the castles. During our free time, we walked the walls of Dubrovnik and that was a great experience.

review_img

Kathy M

Adriatic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We found this trip to be better than expected. UNESCO sights abound with structures dating back to the Romans! We learned about the Balkans both from an historical perspective and from life today. Go early and walk the walls of Dubrovnik. In your free time, visit some Serbian Orthodox churches especially in Ljubljiana.

Most Memorable Moment:

The speakers and guides were wonderful. They gave us a view of living in the former Yugoslavia under the communists as well as in today's society. Krka National Park is beautiful and peaceful. The Mestrovic Gallery is impressive. You see his works throughout Croatia (and in Chicago). The resort in Istria is beautiful and relaxing.

review_img

soho72

This is a great tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Who knew the Balkans were so beautiful! Dubrovnik to Zagreb to Venice - an active tour with little down-time. Travel to Dubrovnik is not easy - took us three flights, but worth the effort. The local tour guides were well-informed and personable. Our Tauck guide was the best one yet. I had to be talked into this trip. I never should have hesitated!

Most Memorable Moment:

Truffle-hunting - what great fun!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button